The Norwood scale (or Norwood Hamilton scale) is the leading classification system used to measure male pattern baldness. Men often lose their hair in one of several common patterns for decades. The Norwood Hamilton scale provides easy-to-reference images showing the different hair loss stages.

What Are the Benefits of the Scale?

The Norwood Hamilton scale divides male pattern hair loss into 7 categories. In this way, it facilitates communication between you and doctors. Likewise, it helps you understand your hair loss condition and treatments. Because each hair loss stage has a different treatment plan. For example, what works for tier 1 Norwood may not work for tier 5 Norwood. Every person experiences male pattern baldness differently. Therefore, it is difficult to make an accurate classification. However, the Norwood Scale can present a general classification.

  • CLASS I – CLASS III (Norwood scale 1, 2, 3):
    The first three classifications of hair loss on the Norwood scale are ONLY similar to the male model with a receding hairline. Class I Norwood has the least regressive pattern. Class 3 Norwood has the most significant receding hairline. This group usually has normal hair growth in other parts of the head.
  • CLASS III VERTEX: Class III vortex Norwood is where hair loss begins to appear in other areas of the head. In addition to a receding hairline, hair loss is seen in the vortex or crown at this stage.
  • CLASS IV – CLASS V (Norwood Scale 4, 5): Class IV and V both have hair loss in the vortex and a receding hairline. However, Norwood 5th stage has more hair loss.
  • CLASS VI-VII (Norwood 6, 7): Class VI and VII are characterized by advanced hair loss and a hairline that goes beyond the crown.

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *