How to Calculate Your Level of Baldness using the Norwood Scale?

Get a Free Consultation

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

It is of great importance to those considering hair restoration treatments to be able to identify the level of hair loss. It is important to be aware of the stage of your baldness at this time. While you may be aware of when your hair loss began, it is useful to know where you currently stand. The Norwood scale (or Norwood Hamilton scale) is the leading classification system used to measure male pattern baldness. It is not uncommon for men to experience hair loss in one of several common patterns over a number of decades. The Norwood Hamilton scale provides clear, easy-to-reference images that illustrate different stages of hair loss.

What Are the Benefits of the Scale?

The Norwood-Hamilton scale divides male pattern hair loss into seven distinct stages. This enables clear communication between you and your doctors. Similarly, it enables you to gain a better understanding of your hair loss condition and the treatments available. Each stage of hair loss requires a different treatment plan. For example, a treatment that is effective for Tier 1 Norwood may not be suitable for Tier 5 Norwood. Every individual experiences male pattern baldness in a unique manner. Therefore, it is challenging to provide an accurate classification. However, the Norwood Scale can provide a general classification.

  • Class I-Class III (Norwood scale 1, 2, and 3): The first three classifications of hair loss on the Norwood scale are only similar to the male model with a receding hairline. Class I Norwood has the least regressive pattern. Class 3 Norwood has the most significant receding hairline. This group usually has normal hair growth in other parts of the head.
  • Class III Vertex: At this stage, hair loss begins to appear in other areas of the head, in addition to a receding hairline. This is evidenced by the presence of hair loss in the vortex or crown.
  • Class IV-Class V (Norwood Scale 4, 5): Both Class IV and V both have hair loss in the vortex and a receding hairline. However, the Norwood 5th stage has more hair loss.
  • Class VI-VII (Norwood 6, 7): Class VI and VII are characterized by advanced hair loss and a receding hairline extending beyond the crown.

Stage 1

At this point, your hair loss condition is classified as the “control stage,” which indicates that there is currently no identifiable cause for your hair loss. As there is minimal loss in the hairline, there is minimal change in the appearance of the hair. If there is no family history of baldness, it is advisable to closely monitor the process and consider treatment, as early intervention will strengthen your hair and prevent it from falling out. It is possible for individuals to remain in this stage for the rest of their lives, although this is not a common occurrence.

Stage 2

This is the symmetrical shedding of hair from the area around both eyebrows. The hairline changes at a rate of 1 or 2 cm, at which point your hair loss is in the second stage, which is the pre-bald stage. However, the vertex is not yet affected. A medical examination is necessary to determine whether medication can halt the progression of hair loss.

Stage 3

This is the stage where hair loss becomes a significant issue for many. The hair loss at the temples continues to progress. In Class A of Stage 3, hair loss is more pronounced in the temple areas, in line with the typical pattern of the stage. It is possible that a small bald spot may appear at the vertex. At this stage, we would like to suggest that you contact us to discuss ways to halt hair loss and determine the most suitable method for your hair.

Stage 4

Stage 4 is characterized by a distinct stage of hair loss. The hairline is further retracted and has a deeper curve. The bald patch on the top of the scalp rises, but there is still a hairy area between the crown and the front scalp. In stage 4, class A type, the hairline curve is deeper and there are no bald patches on the vertex.

Stage 5

At this stage, the forehead line and the loss on the crests become more obvious. There is some hair between the hill and the forehead, but compared to the previous stage, the hair here is thinner and the line in between is narrower. The remaining feathers on the head can be likened to the shape of a horseshoe. The hair loss condition is clearly visible and more advanced than that observed in Stage 4. It is recommended that emergency treatment be initiated at this stage.

Stage 6

In stage 6, the thin line of the hairy area is completely gone, and the balding of the frontal scalp and the vertex are joined together. At this stage, the only remaining hairy areas on the scalp are the sides.

Stage 7

The final stage of the Norwood Scale is characterized by hair loss on the sides, with the frontal and vertex areas being bald and the sides being very thin. You can examine your hair loss condition and see how severe it is at home with the help of a mirror or a selfie stick, but the best thing to do about your condition is to consult a professional. At Clinic Mono’s collaborative health institution, your individual hair loss condition will be examined by the contracted Mono team. You will receive a detailed hair analysis and an individually tailored treatment plan. In order to get further information about treatments through Clinic Mono, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Previous Post
Before and After a Beard Transplant
Next Post
Hair Transplant Reviews in Turkey



Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp